Friday, January 30, 2015

Welcome New Editorial Board Members: Clarence N.Stone, Todd Swanstrom, Pawel Swianiewicz

Clarence N. Stone is Research Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at George Washington University. His research interests have long centered on city politics. Most recently he has co-authored a book on urban neighborhoods, forthcoming with the University of Chicago Press.

Todd Swanstrom is the Des Lee Professor of Community Collaboration and Public Policy Administration at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. His co-authored book, Place Matters: Metropolitics for the Twenty-First Century (3rd ed. 2014) won the Michael Harrington Award from the New Politics Section of the American Political Science Association.

Pawel Swianiewicz is Professor of Economics at University of Warsaw and Head of the Department of Local Development and Policy at the Faculty of Geography and Regional Studies. He is an adviser on local government issues to the President of Poland since 2010. From 2005 to 2010 he was President of the European Urban Research Association.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Welcome New Editorial Board Members: Ringa Raudla, Jefferey Sellers, Gerry Stoker

Ringa Raudla is a Professor of Public Finance and Governance and the director of the PhD Program at Ragnar Nurkse School of Innovation and Governance, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia. Her main research interests are institutional economics, public finance, budgeting, financial management and performance management. She has published widely in leading journals, including Governance, Public Administration, and Journal of Public Policy. She is a board member of NISPAcee and coordinates the study group on fiscal administration in IIAS.

Jefferey Sellers is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Southern California. His research is focused on comparative analysis of institutions and state society relations from the “bottom-up” perspective of cities and communities.

Gerry Stoker is a Professor of Politics and Governance at the University of Southampton, UK. His main research interests are in governance, democratic politics, local and regional governance, urban politics, public participation and public service reform. He was the founding chair of the New Local Government Network that was the think-tank of the year in 2004 and his most recent book Why Politics Matters won the 2006 political book of the year award from the Political Studies Association of the UK. He has provided advice to various parts of UK government and is also an expert advisor to the Council of Europe on local government and participation issues. 

Monday, January 26, 2015

Welcome New Editorial Board Members: John Mollenkopf, Thomas Ogorzalek, Marion Orr

John Mollenkopf is a Distinguished Professor at CUNY Graduate Center and directs the Center for Urban Research. He received his PhD from Harvard and his teaching and research interests focus on urban politics and public policy, including New York City politics, immigrant political participation, and the new immigrant second generation. He has authored or edited fifteen books on urban politics, urban policy, the politics of urban development, and New York City.

Thomas Ogorzalek is an Assistant Professor of Political Science and Urban Studies and Faculty Associate in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University. His research focuses on the role of cities in American political development and the politics of rapidly changing communities in the United States.

Marion Orr is the Frederick Lippitt Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Political Science and Urban Studies at Brown University. His research focuses on urban politics, the politics of urban schools, race and ethnic politics, and community organizing. He is the author and editor of six books including, Black Social Capital: The Politics of School Reform in Baltimore. He is the editor of Transforming the City: Community Organizing and the Challenge of Political Change. He has held a number of fellowships, including an appointment as Research Fellow at the Brookings Institution, a Presidential Fellowship from the University of California, Berkeley, and a fellowship from the Ford Foundation. He is a former president of the Urban Politics Section of the American Political Science Association. He also served as chair of the governing board of the Urban Affairs Association.